Skip to content

Using Twitter professionally to network with other teachers

May 5, 2013

Previous : A guide to using Twitter in teaching and Using Twitter with pupils

I use my professional Twitter account, @StuBillington, to follow and be followed by others involved in education. I get lots of ideas, information and resources from those I follow and I try to tweet things that I think they might find useful in return.

I don’t use my professional Twitter account to tweet about my personal life (e.g. what I think about the form of the football team I support). I reason that this might be relevant to my friends, but probably not to my teacher peers who are busy people and who don’t need to wade through that kind of stuff when looking through the hundreds of tweets on their feed. If I wanted to do that, I’d get another Twitter account for my personal life. (Although, actually, I probably wouldn’t, as I wouldn’t want my students stumbling across my life on show!)

I follow nearly 500 people, a number that is increasing all the time as I come across other like-minded people saying things I’m interested in listening to. Finding people to follow is relatively easy: initially, I just looked at who other people were following and, well, followed suit! If you wanted a starting point for some teachers to follow, you could take a look at some of the 500 or so I’m following. There are also “lists” of teachers on Twitter, maintained by attentive teachers; you’ll stumble across those as you look for people to follow.

Some of the people I follow tweet every day, some of them far less frequently. Either way, it adds up to a lot of tweets to read. Top tip: don’t try to read them all. Whenever I make time to look at Twitter, I just look at the most recent few dozen. In fact, timing when you tweet your own tweets is important, if you want to increase the chances of others reading them and not missing them.

Recently, I seem to spend most of my time accessing Twitter directly, through the Twitter app on my iPad. However, there are times when a more sophisticated interface is useful. My personal favourite is Hootsuite, but there are lots of other options out there. I’m also experimenting with Flipboard (an iPad app) at the moment. Perhaps something I’ll blog about in the future.

So, why would you want something more sophisticated? Well, tweets often incorporate “hashtags”: keywords that can be searched for quickly, to assemble a list of tweets on a theme, rather than the random ones on your home page that are limited to the most recent tweets of those you follow. For teachers, one of the most useful is #UKEdChat. For Science teachers, another is #ASEChat. For members of the a school’s leadership team, there’s also #SLTChat. And, more recently, there’s the rapidly upcoming #PedagooFriday. Setting up a Twitter feed for these search terms allows you to rapidily connect with like-minded “tweeps” who perhaps you don’t currently follow. Most importantly, most of those hashtags are primarily for a weekly hour-long online “chat” session, in which lots of Twitter users all tweet on a pre-agreed topic, all ending their tweets with the hashtag, so that their comments are relayed to the other people taking part. This is a very effective and highly regarded type of informal INSET. If you’ve never tried it, you should! #ASEChat is on Monday evenings, 8pm to 9pm, and #UKEdChat is on Thursday evenings, 8pm to 9pm.

From → Twitter

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

